Original file can be found here.


Combined Notice of Finding of No Significant Impact and

Notice of Intent to Request a Release of Funds






Colleton County

PO Box 157

Walterboro, SC 29488

(843) 549-5221


These notices shall satisfy two separate but related procedural requirements for activities to be undertaken by Colleton County.


On or about December 16, 2019, Colleton County will submit a request to the SC Department of Commerce/Grants Administration Division for the release of CDBG funds under Title I of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, as amended, to undertake a project known as the Colleton County Project with a total of $550,000 including $500,000 CDBG funds where the County proposes to use funding to upgrade the water lines in the identified neighborhood. The primary activity with this project is to replace the old, small water lines with larger water lines and add fire hydrants. Approximately 7,001 LF of new 6” water line will replace the existing small water line to connect the water line to provide a looping effect and improve water pressure and flow to allow for installing fire hydrants to cover the area with better fire protection. Additionally, the project will include the installation of 5 new fire hydrants, 12 new gate valves, replacement of all service assemblies, and looped interconnections to an existing 12-inch water main, an existing 8-inch water main, and an existing 6-inch water main.  The looping improves flow capabilities, reduces pressure losses, and helps to maintain fresh water.


Proposed 6-inch water main along Live Oak Street will cross wetlands depicted on the USFWS National Wetlands Inventory Maps beginning approximately 1,135 south of Live Oak Street’s intersection with Barracada Road.  The crossing is proposed to be made by the directional drill method using fused HDPE pipe extending approximately 300 feet southward in a manner such that there will be no impacts to these wetlands.  Both the entry point and the exit point will be positioned outside the boundaries of the wetlands.  Directional drilling of utility pipelines has now advanced to the point that such wetlands crossings need not be designed with one continuous arc but rather can be turned as needed to extend under streams and associated wetlands such as Shereau Branch without having to go excessively deep.  This will allow the design to proceed such that there will be a minimum of 4 feet of earth cover, but not so deep that access is restricted if a leak or rupture were to occur.  A wetlands crossing in this manner would be allowed by the US Army Corps of Engineers Nationwide Permit #12-Utility Line Activities and would not require the submittal of a Pre-Construction Notification.

Since there are no wetlands within the right-of-way of Barracada Road and the water mainalong that road is proposed to be completely within that right-of-way, there will be no water mains crossing wetlands along that road.

The design of the proposed project will incorporate the use of Best Management Practices (BMP’s) particularly as it relates to sediment/erosion control and the protection of the wetlands to be crossed.



Colleton County has determined that the project will have no significant impact on the human environment.  Therefore, an Environmental Impact Statement under the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA) is not required.  Additional project information is contained in the Environmental Review Record (ERR) on file at Colleton County Administration Office, 109 Benson Street, Walterboro, SC and may be examined or copied weekdays 9A.M to 5P.M.

Contact Us

242 Hampton Street
Walterboro, SC 29488
Tel: (843) 782-1000
Fax: (843) 549-9795
Email: info@walterborosc.org

Town Directory

Name Email Address Phone Number Title Department
Amy Risher arisher@walterborosc.org Director of Finance & Administration Finance
Amye Stivender astivender@walterborosc.org Lieutenant (Support Services) Police
Angel Varnadoe avarnadoe@walterborosc.org Customer Service Supervisor Utilities
Angel Varnadoe avarnadoe@walterborosc.org Customer Service Supervisor Finance
Angela Roberson aroberson@walterborosc.org Human Resource Specialist Finance
Angie Roerig aramsey@walterborosc.org Accounts Payable Finance
Betty Hudson bhudson@walterborosc.org 8437821010 Clerk to Council
Betty Hudson bhudson@walterborosc.org (843) 782-1010 Clerk to Council
Bonnie Ross bross@walterborosc.org Planning Technician Planning & Development
Brenda Bryan bbryan@walterborosc.org Deputy Clerk of Court Judicial
Bryant Moore bmoore@walterborosc.org Sewer Treatment Plant Utilities
Carl Brown cbrown@walterborosc.org Councilmember
Caroline Long clong@walterborosc.org Records Coordinator Police
Christan Spires cspires@walterborosc.org (843) 908-2169 Director of Tourism Tourism
Christopher Crosby ccrosby@walterborosc.org Fire Marshall Fire
Deborah Kane Associate Municipal Judge Judicial
Gloria Lynah Information Planning & Development
Greg Pryor grpryor@walterborosc.org Councilmember
Hank Amundson hankamundson@walterborosc.org 843-782-1004 Assistant City Manager Administration
James Broderick jbroderick@walterborosc.org Councilmember
Jeff Molinari jmolinari@walterborosc.org (843) 782-1011 City Manager Administration
Jesse Moon jmoon@walterborosc.org Lieutenant (Patrol Division) Police
Judy Bridge jbridge@walterborosc.org Councilmember
Kallie Tuten ktuten@walterborosc.org Business License & Utility Billing Utilities, Finance
Kevin Kinard kkinard@walterborosc.org Lieutenant (Criminal Investigations Division) Police
Kevin Martin kmartin@walterborosc.org Deputy Police Chief Police
Michael Crosby mcrosby@walterborosc.org Public Works Director Public Works
Morrison Payne Municipal Judge Judicial
Nicki Hardy nhardy@walterborosc.org Clerk Judicial
Olga Bryant obryant@walterborosc.org Hospitality & Accommodations Tax Finance
Paul Seigler pseigler@walterborosc.org Fire Chief Fire
Paul Siegel psiegel@walterborosc.org Councilmember
Robert "Bobby" Bonds bbonds@walterborosc.org Councilmember
Ryan McLeod rmcleod@walterborosc.org Parks Director Parks
Theron Grant tgrant@walterborosc.org Captain (Road Patrol & Criminal Investigations) Police
Tiffany Mays tmays@walterborosc.org Business License & Utility Billing Utilities
Tiffany Mays tmays@walterborosc.org Business License & Utility Billing Finance
Wade Marvin wmarvin@walterborosc.org Chief of Police Police
Wayne Crosby wcrosby@walterborosc.org Utilities Director Utilities
Wendell Lemacks wlemacks@walterborosc.org Street Superintendent Public Works