Our Government

City of Walterboro - City HallThe City of Walterboro Municipal Government was established on December 20, 1826. The operation of City Government remained largely unchanged until 1976 when the City adopted the Council/Manager form of government under which the City continues to operate today.

Our City is governed by a Mayor and six Council members elected at-large by the registered voters of the City of Walterboro. Council members are elected to staggered four-year terms and are elected under a partisan or party affiliated system. 


Council Meetings

Walterboro City Council meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 6:15 P.M. in the City Council Chambers located on the second floor of City Hall, 242 Hampton Street. Any changes in meeting schedules are advertised in advance.

The public is welcome and encouraged to attend.


Council Members

Mayor William T. (Bill) Young, Jr.

Robert "Bobby" Bonds

James Broderick

Tom Lohr, Mayor Pro-Tem

Judy Bridge

Paul Siegel

Jimmy Syfrett

City Manager Jeff Molinari

City Manager Jeff Molinari

City Of Walterboro Staff

Jeff Molinari, City Manager

George W. Cone, City Attorney

Wade Marvin, Chief of Police

Kevin Martin, Asst Police Chief

Michael Crosby, Public Works Director

Hank Amundson, Planning & Development Director


Adam Davis, Parks Director

Michelle Strickland, Tourism Director

Amy Risher, Director of Finance & Administration
Wayne Crosby, Utilities Director

Wayne Lake, Fire Chief

Betty Hudson, Clerk to Council

Vacant, Building Official & Code Enforcement


City of Walterboro Municipal Code Book